Two Plus Two Publishing LLC Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
 

Go Back   Two Plus Two Poker Forums > >

Notices

Golf Discuss the game of golf

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2011, 09:33 PM   #126
ph2133868789
old hand
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: LV
Posts: 1,705
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Sprinklerhead on the green? Move ball + greenskeeper KITN? I've realized that as a casual player I'm too lazy, don't have time for, or just plain don't care enough to look up all this stuff. I feel the vast majority of the stuff I would have to look up shouldn't have ever happened in the first place. I can't remember most of the questions I was going to post offhand, but this one is towards the less ridiclous end of the spectrum.
ph2133868789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 09:35 PM   #127
ntnBO
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6,523
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rexx View Post
Yes, you've probably seen them do this when they have a makeable chip (or putt from fringe). Also, fyi... you can't repair ball marks on the fringe if it's in your line. But you're free to repair them if they're not... you know... if you feel like being a good guy.
Actually you cannot. If you are not on the green, you can't repair marks anywhere off the putting surface.

BO
ntnBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 10:03 PM   #128
Rexx
journeyman
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 283
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntnBO View Post
Actually you cannot. If you are not on the green, you can't repair marks anywhere off the putting surface.

BO
Which rule is being violated? Rule 13-2 addresses this situation (I think), and as long as the pitch mark does not affect lie, stance, swing, or line, I thought you were free to repair it (although it's likely I'm misunderstanding or forgetting some other rule).
Rexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 10:33 PM   #129
ph2133868789
old hand
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: LV
Posts: 1,705
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Part of rules 13-2 exceptions state:

"However, the player incurs no penalty if the action occurs on the putting green in removing sand and loose soil or in repairing damage (Rule 16-1)."

Is it intentional that it says the action occurs on the green? Without reference to the location of the players ball? Or is this implied in the reference to rule 16-1?
ph2133868789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:25 AM   #130
ntnBO
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6,523
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rexx View Post
Which rule is being violated? Rule 13-2 addresses this situation (I think), and as long as the pitch mark does not affect lie, stance, swing, or line, I thought you were free to repair it (although it's likely I'm misunderstanding or forgetting some other rule).
Off the top of my head, I don't know which rule would be violated either. But since you can't repair anything in your area or line of play, why would you even risk a penalty by repairing anything?

I understand what you are saying about good etiquette and such, and that's good. But I wouldn't take any risk whatsoever along the way.

BO
ntnBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 07:04 AM   #131
mad_hatter
journeyman
 
mad_hatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 346
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

This happened last time I played: I hit my approach shot into a water hazard in front of the green. It's just a small creek which runs in front of the green and when I got up there my ball was not in the water but inside the yellow stakes, so in the hazard.

I decide I can chop down on it with a wedge and get it on to the green. Now I know I'm not allowed to ground the club in a hazard, so i didn't but as I made my backswing the clubhead made contact with the ground because there was a bit of a ridge behind the ball. I stopped in the middle of my backswing, counted it as a penalty stroke, and then swung again and hit the shot the way I intended.

So I counted 1 penalty stroke and another for my actual shot, was this correct?

Don't know if I'm explaining this well enough, so here's an mspaint:


The red circle is where I made contact with the ground


mad_hatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 07:22 AM   #132
Run Ricky Run
banned
 
Run Ricky Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,857
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Why did you stop your backswing?
Run Ricky Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 10:35 AM   #133
mad_hatter
journeyman
 
mad_hatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 346
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Run Ricky Run View Post
Why did you stop your backswing?
Dunno, it kinda messed with my head and my first instinct was just to stop. You saying I wouldn't have gotten a penalty if I'd not stopped?
mad_hatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:02 PM   #134
g-bebe
because robots are strong
 
g-bebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: JOSEPH VINCENT FLACCO
Posts: 18,707
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

no expert here but I imagine if you continue your swing, despite hitting the ground in your backswing, there's no penalty as you're allowed to touch the ground when you're in the action of your swing. but since you stopped it becomes a penalty.
g-bebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:36 PM   #135
BadBoyBenny
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
BadBoyBenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 7,747
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

I dunno for sure either but I thought it ws a penalty if you hit it with the backswing and ok if you hit it on the downswing.
BadBoyBenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:39 PM   #136
bwslim69
I'm a Diva, Bruh
 
bwslim69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: TPS reports
Posts: 17,544
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by g-bebe View Post
no expert here but I imagine if you continue your swing, despite hitting the ground in your backswing, there's no penalty as you're allowed to touch the ground when you're in the action of your swing. but since you stopped it becomes a penalty.
This is not the case...penalty regardless.

OP's scoring was correct.
bwslim69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 04:36 PM   #137
ReidLockhart
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
ReidLockhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: prolly ATF
Posts: 7,777
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

It's the same as when you clip the sand on your backswing if you're in a bunker. Bunker = hazard. Grounding your club in the hazard = penalty stroke.
ReidLockhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:30 PM   #138
tzwien
Pooh-Bah
 
tzwien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,267
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

It's one of the worst rules in golf imo. You can chunk the **** out of your sand shot and it doesn't count as grounding your club. But when you hit mounds of sand or ground on your backswing it's a penalty? Sweet rule.
tzwien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 10:33 AM   #139
Thamel18
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
Thamel18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA #1
Posts: 8,854
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

It's definitely the most frustrating rule, as the crime doesn't fit the 2 stroke penalty (or loss of hole) of grounding your club.
Thamel18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 01:21 PM   #140
Hotrod0823
old hand
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,310
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Found this "NOTE" at the end of the 13-4 rule exceptions.

Note: At any time, including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke, the player may touch, with a club or otherwise, any obstruction, any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course or any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing.

So if I read this it means you can touch the "grass" in the hazard it isn't a penalty.
Hotrod0823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 01:42 PM   #141
tzwien
Pooh-Bah
 
tzwien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,267
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

You can touch everything that isn't the ground or sand I think.

What about grounding your club in the water if you're trying to hit one out of it?
tzwien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 02:04 PM   #142
MCB113
enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 74
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

^^^ Heh, this happened to me yesterday. My ball was on some vegetation in a creek, I was able to take a stance and hit it, but afterwards I was wondering if I could've "grounded" my club in the water.
MCB113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 02:15 PM   #143
BadBoyBenny
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
BadBoyBenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 7,747
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotrod0823 View Post
Found this "NOTE" at the end of the 13-4 rule exceptions.

Note: At any time, including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke, the player may touch, with a club or otherwise, any obstruction, any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course or any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing.

So if I read this it means you can touch the "grass" in the hazard it isn't a penalty.
Yes but if you break the grass or other growing thing it's still a penalty. This penalty decided a recent tournament at Harbor town.
BadBoyBenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 02:31 PM   #144
Thamel18
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
Thamel18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA #1
Posts: 8,854
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

I really doubt addressing and touching the water is a penalty, as it isn't the material your ball is sitting on or being supported by (so you're not grounded). As for sweeping some rough grass, that's obviously legal unless it's nearly certain you grounded your club (ie. takeaway is slown down, or clearly thrown off path after the ground.)
Thamel18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 05:30 PM   #145
Pelican86
veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,338
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadBoyBenny View Post
Yes but if you break the grass or other growing thing it's still a penalty. This penalty decided a recent tournament at Harbor town.
I think that was actually a loose impediment. If I understand correctly, had it been attached to the ground it wouldn't have been a penalty.
Pelican86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:53 PM   #146
medaugh
grinder
 
medaugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: in the lumberyard
Posts: 528
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

What is the process for handicapping a course? I'm not talking about course rating, rather ranking holes 1-18.
medaugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 10:10 PM   #147
tzwien
Pooh-Bah
 
tzwien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,267
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by medaugh View Post
What is the process for handicapping a course? I'm not talking about course rating, rather ranking holes 1-18.
I think they go by average number of swear words per hole. That's why par 5's are the hardest and par 3's are the easiest handicap-wise.
tzwien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 10:25 PM   #148
ntnBO
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6,523
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by medaugh View Post
What is the process for handicapping a course? I'm not talking about course rating, rather ranking holes 1-18.
The process is pretty damn technical, but the gist of the process is simply ranking each hole in difficulty level for the average golfer who shoots between 95-100. The reason par 3's are usually the easiest is because there are fewer shots to muck up. Conversely, par 5's are harder because there are more shots for the average golfer to muck up.

Naturally, for better players, par 5's are the easiest holes while par 3's are the most difficult.

BO
ntnBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 11:00 PM   #149
Hotrod0823
old hand
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,310
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

They are re-doing the handicap holes at my hole course this year. The pro is collecting cards from players and they are put into 2 groups. Basically A and B players. Bo is correct the scores from the B players(high handicapers) are averaged for all the holes and compared with the A players(single digits handicapper) scores and then compared. The A average is subtracted from B averages and the bigger the delta the "harder" the hole.
Hotrod0823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 01:44 AM   #150
ReidLockhart
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
ReidLockhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: prolly ATF
Posts: 7,777
Re: *** Official Rules Questions/Issues Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotrod0823 View Post
They are re-doing the handicap holes at my hole course this year. The pro is collecting cards from players and they are put into 2 groups. Basically A and B players. Bo is correct the scores from the B players(high handicapers) are averaged for all the holes and compared with the A players(single digits handicapper) scores and then compared. The A average is subtracted from B averages and the bigger the delta the "harder" the hole.
So it goes by actual results? Or is this some sort of "cheap way of doing it yourself" for the course? I thought the USGA or whatever governing body takes care of it had to come in and do all their yardages and hazard analysis or whatever they do for slop and rating.
ReidLockhart is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply
      

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2008-2010, Two Plus Two Interactive
 
 
Poker Players - Streaming Live Online