Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
 

Go Back   Two Plus Two Poker Forums > >

Notices

Casino & Cardroom Poker Discussions of the activities, rules and etiquette of Live Casino and Cardroom Poker Venues.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2018, 11:59 AM   #1
mctempleman
stranger
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
SB all-in, not enough for BB, plus other questions

i hope someone can help clarify something
three players ,

player one has put all her money in for the small blind but doesn't have the full blind
and is therefore all in
player two checks
player three goes all in
player two folds
here is the weird part
player three throws her cards in by mistake forgetting that player one is still in the game, then realizes her mistake
my question is can player three actually muck/fold if she has previously said all in
mctempleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 01:11 PM   #2
2pairsof2s
adept
 
2pairsof2s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cashier screen at Pokerstars
Posts: 1,056
re: SB all-in, not enough for BB, plus other questions

You say she throws her cards in. Were they easily recoverable, or were they lost in the muck.

Anyway it probably does not matter, since the pot is only about 3 big blinds.
2pairsof2s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 01:41 PM   #3
Aurora Tom
grinder
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 426
re: SB all-in, not enough for BB, plus other questions

Is this a tournament or a cash game? If it's a cash game, you normally wouldn't be able to see a hand with less than a big blind.

Otherwise, what the previous post makes sense. If her cards are retrievable, then give them back. Also if it's a tournament they must be turned over at that time and they will be considered live.
Aurora Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 01:55 PM   #4
AngusThermopyle
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
AngusThermopyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 乱
Posts: 14,541
re: SB all-in, not enough for BB, plus other questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by mctempleman View Post
i hope someone can help clarify something
three players ,

player one has put all her money in for the small blind but doesn't have the full blind
and is therefore all in
player two checks
player three goes all in
player two folds
here is the weird part
player three throws her cards in by mistake forgetting that player one is still in the game, then realizes her mistake
my question is can player three actually muck/fold if she has previously said all in
As noted above, this should only happen in a tournament. Usually, in a cash game Player 1 would have to rebuy or quit.

But your action makes no sense.

If Player 1 is the SB, how does Player 2 check unless they are the BB ... in which case where does Player 3 come from?

Repost the action, giving amounts, positions, etc.
AngusThermopyle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 05:28 PM   #5
youtalkfunny
dumbest smart person his mom knows
 
youtalkfunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can't believe it, either!
Posts: 21,360
Re: SB all-in, not enough for BB, plus other questions

AT, the SB went all-in preflop, all other action described is post-flop.

My best guess, any way.

OP, put another way:

"Winner of the sidepot threw her cards in, forgetting there was a main pot that required a showdown. What now?"
youtalkfunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 06:33 PM   #6
bolt2112
old hand
 
bolt2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,641
Re: SB all-in, not enough for BB, plus other questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by youtalkfunny View Post
AT, the SB went all-in preflop, all other action described is post-flop.

My best guess, any way.

OP, put another way:

"Winner of the sidepot threw her cards in, forgetting there was a main pot that required a showdown. What now?"

This sounds right. At any rate, whether or not the SB had enough chips for a full big blind bet isn't pertinent to the question.

The player who tossed their cards forward wasn't facing a bet. His cards are live and retrievable unless they're in the muck.
bolt2112 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 09:41 PM   #7
browni3141
veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,281
Re: SB all-in, not enough for BB, plus other questions

If the cards are retrievable then run out the board for the main pot between player 1 and player 3. It is not good to allow the hand to be mucked if possible for chip dumping reasons. If the cards are not retrievable player 1 wins the main pot without showdown.

Regardless of whether the cards are retrievable or not, player 3 gets the side pot as they had the last live hand eligible for that pot.
browni3141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 12:34 PM   #8
Mr Rick
Pooh-Bah
 
Mr Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,112
Re: SB all-in, not enough for BB, plus other questions

In a tournament according to TDA rules the answer is no. The Dealer must prevent the hand from being mucked. Prior to the river all hands must be turned up when all players but one are all in. At showdown if one player is all in then all hands must be turned up.

In cash games it happens and cards end up unretrievable in the muck when there is a side pot. If the cards are retrievable then they should be live.
Mr Rick is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply
      

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2008-2017, Two Plus Two Interactive
 
 
Poker Players - Streaming Live Online