Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
 

Go Back   Two Plus Two Poker Forums > >

Notices

Casino & Cardroom Poker Discussions of the activities, rules and etiquette of Live Casino and Cardroom Poker Venues.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2019, 02:26 PM   #1
yoolykeme
journeyman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 229
Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

In most time rake games, if you are in the SB or button when the new dealer comes in, you can play your SB and button for free and then leave without paying time for the following half hour.

This came up yesterday....

When the new dealer came in, I was on the button. The table wanted to play a time/bomb pot. Everyone is in for $50 blind and we start playing on the flop. Time rake is $8/pp

Am I allowed to play the time pot by putting my $50 in, and in the event that I lose the pot, I am still rebated back my $8, instead of it going to either the house or the player that won the pot? If not, whom should it go to...the house or the player that won? Would it be different if I won the time pot?
yoolykeme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 02:31 PM   #2
c2d2
grinder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 475
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

Iíve never heard of playing your blinds/button w/o paying time. Not to say it doesnít exist, but maybe itís not so universal as you think?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
c2d2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 02:37 PM   #3
Reducto
adept
 
Reducto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the wind
Posts: 1,130
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

The player who pays the rake for the table gets the rebate. By playing the bomb pot you're agreeing to pay time for the table, so you should be willing to either pay it then leave or stay and play for another half hour. Probably best to just not play it.

I've never heard of being able to play through to your button without paying time.
Reducto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 03:24 PM   #4
dinesh
veteran
 
dinesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3,208
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

I have heard of it, some/many rooms offer it.

I think you either have to postpone the bomb pot now (they can run it in 2 hands and collect time when you leave if the premise allows, or else one of the other players can put time up now and get repaid by the bomb winner in 2 hands) or opt into it with no disclaimers and pay time if you win (and perhaps reevaluate whether you will actually leave).
dinesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 11:06 PM   #5
chillrob
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
chillrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: under a dark cloud
Posts: 12,905
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

You say the table wanted to play a time pot for this hand, but everyone at the table should have to agree for that to happen. It makes no sense for you to agree to that. It also is the worst position for you to play a "bomb pot", as you get no benefit from being the button.
chillrob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 11:08 PM   #6
yoolykeme
journeyman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 229
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

How is being on the button not an advantage?
yoolykeme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 11:29 PM   #7
chillrob
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
chillrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: under a dark cloud
Posts: 12,905
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoolykeme View Post
How is being on the button not an advantage?
I thought you meant that everyone was putting in $50 and then just running out the cards. I guess you meant that was only for the preflop action though, and that post flop would play as usual. In that case, the button would still have an advantage, but not as big an advantage as in a normal pot.
chillrob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 01:38 AM   #8
smoothcriminal99
adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 943
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

I would say in a perfect would if you win the pot you don’t post the time and they figure out what they’d do to pay it (next hand another bomb pot or card for it). Rebating a player is never going to work as well IMO. You would have to say your out for time prior to the hand for it to work obviously though. In actuality it’s one of those things since neither of these things are in the rules and someone always going to object and angle you just either eat the money or don’t play the hand. You do anything else you look like an angler or get the floor to say bomb pots or time can’t be paid or you can’t play a hand and not pay time etc like that anymore.
smoothcriminal99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 01:41 AM   #9
dinesh
veteran
 
dinesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3,208
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

The issue is that, in general, the dealer has to collect time before dealing the hand, so the dealer takes the whole table's time (maybe less his $8, since he tells the dealer he is only playing to his button) out of the bomb pot right away, before you know who won the hand, so there's no way for him to win and not pay, unless the dealer gives him a "refund", which should not ever happen once it is collected.
dinesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 02:06 AM   #10
MMMed13
centurion
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 180
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

Also never heard of playing button but not paying time. I thought it was pretty universal nowadays when the dealer sits everyone pays.
MMMed13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 04:25 AM   #11
monikrazy
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
monikrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 24,948
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

In this situation house should collect 8 less for time from the pot. But you still owe 50.
monikrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 08:06 AM   #12
madlex
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9,714
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chillrob View Post
I thought you meant that everyone was putting in $50 and then just running out the cards. I guess you meant that was only for the preflop action though, and that post flop would play as usual. In that case, the button would still have an advantage, but not as big an advantage as in a normal pot.
That highly depends on stack sizes and players. In a $50 bomb pot at 2/5 with a $500 cap, the advantage is comparatively low. At 10/20 with stacks of $5k+ and a couple players who feel committed to pots once they have money invested, the positional advantage is solid.

I think everybody owes $50 and the winner gets the $8 rebate. If a player doesnít want to play the time pot, itís obviously off. But if you are not planning on paying the next time and donít want to put in $50, you should just sit out the hand out of courtesy.
madlex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 01:33 PM   #13
RR
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NOLA
Posts: 12,236
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

Back in the day (the late 90s) a rule in some rooms was if there was no list you could play through your button if you had paid the BB.
RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 05:52 PM   #14
borg23
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8,459
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RR View Post
Back in the day (the late 90s) a rule in some rooms was if there was no list you could play through your button if you had paid the BB.
i know this was the case in time games at commerce as of a few years ago. at aria they'll let you play your button. at borgata they won't.
borg23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 09:35 PM   #15
12bigworm81
adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 963
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

As described you should be sitting out this hand.
12bigworm81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 08:50 PM   #16
kimoser22
veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: the land of pleasant living
Posts: 3,326
Re: Playing a bomb/time pot an not paying time.

As people have said this rule is room to room, sometimes even floor to floor, so you def should have checked before the hand with the house. If this is indeed the rule, then you should have made it clear to the other players that you were out of the time pot, I mean its not that hard to say "I'm leaving after the BTN, I'm out of the time flop." If they question it just say you are taking care of your own time...
kimoser22 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply
      

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2008-2017, Two Plus Two Interactive
 
 
Poker Players - Streaming Live Online