Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
 

Go Back   Two Plus Two Poker Forums > >

Notices

Casino & Cardroom Poker Discussions of the activities, rules and etiquette of Live Casino and Cardroom Poker Venues.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2019, 09:06 AM   #26
SpewingIsMyMove
veteran
 
SpewingIsMyMove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,574
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoseJohnnyJimJack View Post
When it's an accident?
Of course not, as I have clearly stated above. But your post made it seem like you don't feel a one chip call is a common or binding act, which it absolutely is.
SpewingIsMyMove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 10:29 AM   #27
Suit
Pooh-Bah
 
Suit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,246
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpewingIsMyMove View Post
a one chip call is a common or binding act, which it absolutely is.
Be careful with the word "binding". I would never give anyone here the advice to believe it will be binding. Ever. Because it is not absolutely binding. Sometimes it will be and there are some times that it will not be.
Suit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 11:20 AM   #28
answer20
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
answer20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Corner of Walk/Don't Walk
Posts: 6,718
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

There are more than a few threads stored on this site where a V 'put in' some chips and then either got up and cashed out or wasn't required to put in 'the rest'.

There are dozens of other threads discussing one chip situations but the most common concept is making sure you protect and verify the action before tabling your cards.

If I'm not mistake there's TDA (#42) language stating that an undercall (1 chip) is treated differently when HU. Notice the word 'call', which doesn't cover the most classicly understood case of a one chip situation ... Where a Player goes all-in (whether opening or going over the top) with a one chip 'confirmation' of a verbal all-in.

B: A player undercalls by declaring or pushing out less than the call amount without first declaring “call”. An undercall is a mandatory full call if made in turn facing 1) any bet heads-up ...

I'm not being wishy washy here from my previous thread posts. I think a one chip action is good for poker as a physical indicator that I've acted and 'action' is back on the other Player(s). It's up to the Players to verify what I've done if there's anything unclear. Anglely? In certain spots .. and I'm not going to disparage those that want to eliminate it from the game completely either. GL
answer20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 12:48 PM   #29
SpewingIsMyMove
veteran
 
SpewingIsMyMove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,574
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suit View Post
Be careful with the word "binding". I would never give anyone here the advice to believe it will be binding. Ever. Because it is not absolutely binding. Sometimes it will be and there are some times that it will not be.
I reread my sentence and you are absolutely right. I meant that a one chip call being binding is common, but I misphrased it.
SpewingIsMyMove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 12:52 PM   #30
Suit
Pooh-Bah
 
Suit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,246
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

The only time I am ok with it is when you are the last player to act on the river and you are calling a bet/raise. If there is anyone left to act after you, then it simply is not ok.
Suit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 03:02 PM   #31
Defarse
centurion
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 162
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suit View Post
The only time I am ok with it is when you are the last player to act on the river and you are calling a bet/raise. If there is anyone left to act after you, then it simply is not ok.
I am Ok with it on the flop and turn as well.
Defarse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 03:33 PM   #32
Didace
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
Didace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14,614
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Defarse View Post
I am Ok with it on the flop and turn as well.
When do you expect the pot to be made right?
Didace is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 04:43 PM   #33
Suit
Pooh-Bah
 
Suit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,246
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Defarse View Post
I am Ok with it on the flop and turn as well.
If it is heads up and it is an all in bet and closes the action, then I will go with you on that.
Suit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 11:46 PM   #34
DCJ001
veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,557
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpewingIsMyMove View Post
Whatever your opinion of it is, or the people who do it, it is a very common convention. And a very large number of rooms enforce a deliberate act of pushing one chip forward as a call. Although, interestingly, those same rooms would not always make you complete an undercall.

Poker conventions evolve, and a one chip call is a common and usually binding action.
Not in tournaments, based on the TDA rules.
DCJ001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 01:55 AM   #35
SpewingIsMyMove
veteran
 
SpewingIsMyMove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,574
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCJ001 View Post
Not in tournaments, based on the TDA rules.
TDA discourages it, but allows it to be binding per the floors discretion

"Silently betting chip(s) relatively tiny to the bet (ex: blinds 2k-4k. A bets 50k, B then silently puts out one 1k chip) is non-standard, strongly discouraged, subject to penalty, and will be interpreted at TDs discretion, including being ruled a full call."

In certain situations, it would be a binding undercall

"B: A player undercalls by declaring or pushing out less than the call amount without first declaring “call”. An undercall is a mandatory full call if made in turn facing 1) any bet heads-up or 2) the opening bet on any round multi-way. In other situations, TD’s discretion applies. The opening bet is the first chip bet of each betting round (not a check). In blind games the posted BB is the pre-flop opener. All-in buttons reduce undercall frequency (See Recommended Procedure 1). This rule governs when players must make a full call and when, at TDs discretion they may forfeit an undercall and fold. For underbets and underraises, see Rule 43."

Since a one chip call is most commonly used in headsup play facing a bet, this would be a mandatory call
SpewingIsMyMove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 06:58 PM   #36
Suit
Pooh-Bah
 
Suit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,246
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpewingIsMyMove View Post
TDA discourages it, but allows it to be binding per the floors discretion
So you're suggesting everyone still does it and just leaves their fate up to the floor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpewingIsMyMove View Post
Since a one chip call is most commonly used in headsup play facing a bet, this would be a mandatory call
And I'm ok with that, but what about all the other times these idiots are doing it? 4 way pot and first player goes all in after the flop. 2nd player tosses in one chip. 3rd player raises all in... see where I'm going with this?
Suit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 07:15 PM   #37
SpewingIsMyMove
veteran
 
SpewingIsMyMove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,574
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suit View Post
So you're suggesting everyone still does it and just leaves their fate up to the floor?



And I'm ok with that, but what about all the other times these idiots are doing it? 4 way pot and first player goes all in after the flop. 2nd player tosses in one chip. 3rd player raises all in... see where I'm going with this?
I am neither arguing for or against it, just saying it is a commonly used convention. I personally don't do it, and I really don't like when the physical action is different than the declared or actual action. But I recognize that a single chip tossed deliberately into the pot when facing a bet is going to be considered a call.
SpewingIsMyMove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 11:43 AM   #38
answer20
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
answer20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Corner of Walk/Don't Walk
Posts: 6,718
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpewingIsMyMove View Post
But I recognize that a single SILENT chip tossed deliberately into the pot when facing a bet is going to be considered a call.
A silent single chip is fine with me, it's a physical act that you've completed your action ... BUT ...

Here is where things get sticky for lots of posters ... What if a Player declares 'all-in' and then flicks in the one chip? If the all-in is not understood we could have a pre-exposed hand when HU or a disastrous 'call' by a 'middle' Player when multi-way. These are the spots where the single chip can cause major issues to Dealers and Floors. Yes, the burden of confirmation action is always on the Player but there are quiet a few on this site that think it's just better to eliminate that opportunity completely. GL
answer20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 11:45 AM   #39
answer20
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
answer20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Corner of Walk/Don't Walk
Posts: 6,718
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

We've kinda of moved away from the OP ... But it's pretty obvious that if 'all' one chip action is taken away from the Players that the accidental one chip will naturally fall into that category. GL
answer20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 12:40 PM   #40
SpewingIsMyMove
veteran
 
SpewingIsMyMove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,574
Re: 'Accidentally' flicking in a chip not a call?

Quote:
Originally Posted by answer20 View Post
A silent single chip is fine with me, it's a physical act that you've completed your action ... BUT ...

Here is where things get sticky for lots of posters ... What if a Player declares 'all-in' and then flicks in the one chip? If the all-in is not understood we could have a pre-exposed hand when HU or a disastrous 'call' by a 'middle' Player when multi-way. These are the spots where the single chip can cause major issues to Dealers and Floors. Yes, the burden of confirmation action is always on the Player but there are quiet a few on this site that think it's just better to eliminate that opportunity completely. GL
We seem to be diverging into three different questions

1. Is a single chip deliberately tossed into the pot a call?
2. Is a single chip accidentally placed in the betting area a call?
3. Are one chip calls a good idea?

A1. Yes, this is a very common convention, and is explicitly indicative of action in most cases, and dealers\floors will often\usually rule this binding as a call
A2. If it is done accidentally, and immediately remediated, then no, this should not be a call
A3. Anytime a player is allowed to make a physical act incongruous with his implied or verbally declared action, you have a possibility for the hand to go sideways. I personally am a fan of the pot being made right before the action is considered complete, even if it slows the game down. Players who one chip or short stack call, players who declare a call then push out enough chips to make a raise (ostensibly to make it easier to get change), or any action where the physical act is not definitive really annoy me. But it is unfortunately an allowed part of the game.
SpewingIsMyMove is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply
      

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2008-2017, Two Plus Two Interactive
 
 
Poker Players - Streaming Live Online