Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
 

Go Back   Two Plus Two Poker Forums > >

Notices

Draw and Other Poker Discussion of poker games not covered elsewhere (e.g. badugi, draw, triple-draw, pineapple)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2020, 02:15 PM   #1
Phat Mack
Texas Toast
 
Phat Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Write in MC Hammer on Nov 3!
Posts: 8,661
TD Badugi; tourney hand. Tune-up Part 5

As far as I know, these are just a couple of simple math questions.

Dealing 3000 6000 Badugi

Phat Mack blinds 1500
PG13 blinds 3000
1 PG13 6550 3000 [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ]
2 > Solipsist 36950 0 [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ]
4 CameoClub 33600 0 [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ]
5 B MyteriousMrM 38500 0 [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ]
6 Phat Mack 7200 1500 [J] [3] [9] [2]

Solipsist folds
CameoClub raises 3000 to 6000
When it's your turn, you will discard: Js 9h
When it's your turn to act, you'll try to call any action
MyteriousMrM folds
Phat Mack calls

I'm short stacked. I'm in the small blind. I have two cards to a perfect. It'll be 3-handed if I bring BB along. Is this where I make my stand?

PG13 calls

Phat Mack draws 2
My cards are: [2] [3] [7] [2]

PG13 draws 1
CameoClub draws 1
It is 0 to you
Phat Mack bets 2700 and is all-in
When it's your turn, you will have to choose which, if any to discard
PG13 calls
CameoClub calls
1 PG13 850 8700 [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ]
2 [Solipsist] 36950[ 0]
4 CameoClub 24900 8700 [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ]
5 B [MyteriousMrM] 38500[ 0]
6 > Phat Mack 0 8700 [2] [3] [7] [2]

You must discard between 0 and 4 cards

There are two draws left. Both opponents drew one on the first round. If I keep the 7, I'll have 10 outs to any diamond. If I pitch the 7 also, I'll have 8 outs to make a better spade or diamond on the second draw, and two cards coming. My question is, What will it take to win?

Hypothetically, let's say I draw one and hit the King of diamonds. Both my opponents drew one. Would I be able to pat the K?
Phat Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 03:31 PM   #2
Greg (FossilMan)
Main Event Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,382
Re: TD Badugi; tourney hand. Tune-up Part 5

With plenty of chips, this hand is a fold. Here, I think you are correct to play the hand. However, you don't want to bring along the big blind. There are too many times you improve to a good 3-card hand, and he also improves to a better one, or a badugi. Your chances of winning this pot go up quite a bit if you can fold out all of his hands that will fold to your raise, that wouldn't have folded anyway. Since you can make it almost a full 3 bets, for him to call you, he has to know that he might have to call a 4-bet to 11.7K from the original raiser as well.

Hard to say what to do on the draw, given that these clearly aren't top level players you are against. Since you drew 2 and bet out, if one of them has a strong 3-card hand, they ought to raise. So, when they just call, does that mean they don't have a strong 3-card hand? Or they just don't know to raise? Even with this, I'd draw 1 and keep the 7. You still have half the chance of improving to a better 3-card, and a much greater chance of improving to a full badugi. If one of these guys does have a strong 3-card and just doesn't know to raise with it, you might only have 2 or 4 outs to make a better 3-card anyway. And one of them is going to make a badugi of some sort about 60% of the time as well. So it's not like improving even to a great 3-card makes you a favorite.

If they both check after the 2d draw, and you've made any badugi, I'd stand on it. Both of them checking suggests they both are still drawing, and now any badugi makes you the favorite. The only reason to break the King would be if there is a bet, and you feel that bet is quite likely to indicate a pat hand. Plus, if that bet gets made trying to get the other guy out, and the bettor is still drawing, your 237 might be good anyway. Not likely, but it might.

Cheers, Greg Raymer (FossilMan)
Greg (FossilMan) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 03:09 PM   #3
zoogenhiem
old hand
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,593
Re: TD Badugi; tourney hand. Tune-up Part 5

Generally agree with the above.

Standard fold deepstacked. Seems right on the border in your situation, I wouldn't play a hand with a 4 in it and would go with A2. Absolutely must 3b to push out bb; you're pot committed once you call here so might as well improve your chance to win the pot (which is what it's all about when short in tournament poker).

Thinking about discarding the 7 in insane. Both opponents are almost surely going to d1 given they didn't raise flop; chance even the bb is trapping is low considering he didn't 3b pre, meaning he likely has a rough d1. In your spot, I'd keep an 8 too; 9 or a T is close and I wouldn't lead with those, I'd want to see how the action goes.

If you make any badugi, you have to pat the final draw unless there's some wild betting action on the turn.
zoogenhiem is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply
      

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2008-2020, Two Plus Two Interactive
 
 
Poker Players - Streaming Live Online