Two Plus Two Publishing LLC Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
 

Go Back   Two Plus Two Poker Forums > >

Notices

Draw and Other Poker Discussion of poker games not covered elsewhere (e.g. badugi, draw, triple-draw, pineapple)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2017, 04:40 PM   #1
joonka
stranger
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
exposed cards - 2-7

Question about exposing cards in 2-7 triple draw:

I played in a mixed game last night. During the 2-7 round, this situation happened.

3 players. After the 2nd draw and subsequent betting round, Player 1 tabled his cards and announced his hand. Unfortunately, there's was still one more draw round. He quickly picked up his cards.

Player 2 saw the hand (and heard him). Player 3 did not.

Is Player 1 obligated to turn over his cards again so that player 3 can see them?

Worth noting that it's a local, friendly game and not a casino or a poker room.

FWIW, we put burn cards under the pot so that people can see how many draw rounds have occurred. Player 1 just had a brain fart. It happens. He's fat.

Appreciate the feedback.
joonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 01:21 AM   #2
leavesofliberty
Pooh-Bah
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,784
Re: exposed cards - 2-7

Yes, he is. Show one, show all. Can continue to play the hand.
leavesofliberty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 08:35 PM   #3
zoogenhiem
adept
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 894
Re: exposed cards - 2-7

Quote:
Originally Posted by leavesofliberty View Post
Yes, he is. Show one, show all. Can continue to play the hand.
+1
zoogenhiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 06:05 PM   #4
chillrob
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
chillrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: under a dark cloud
Posts: 9,981
Re: exposed cards - 2-7

How is the player being overweight relevant?
chillrob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 07:05 PM   #5
joonka
stranger
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
Re: exposed cards - 2-7

How is his weight not relevant? The man is dangerously obese. At some point he's not even going to be able to find a chair that supports his corpulence. But I digress...

As for the main topic of this post, in the absence of collusion (which is a safe assumption at this game of friends), is it right to penalize Fatty for making an innocent mistake? I understand that Player 2 has more information than he is entitled to after the error which Player 3 does not have. It sounds fair that Player 3 should also have this same info to ensure against collusion. But in this situation, Player 3 had the same opportunity to see Fat Oprah's cards that Player 2 did. The cards were tabled and verbally announced. That has a fairness to it. My concern is that the benefit in rewarding Player 3 with this same info offset by the harm it does Chubsy Wubsy.

If El Gordo had shown Player 2 his cards "to sweat" without realizing 2 is still in the hand, then I completely agree. The cards get tabled a second time. But this seems like a situation where 2 and 3 both had access to the same mistake Big Papi made. Exposing Pizza the Hutt's hand a second time seems like an overreach.


Consider a couple of other examples:

1) What if Jelloman had tabled his cards after the dealer mistakenly told him it was time for showdown and not due to some brain fart on his own part? Does that change the "show one show all" rule?


2) Suppose while looking at his cards in a multiplayer pot, Porky's stubby little fingers fail him and one of his cards flashes. The player next to him, who is also still in the hand says he thinks he saw the card and identifies it generically, like "red face card". At that point does Stubby have to expose the card? Or announce that it was identified incorrectly? It seems like a situation where an angle is opened up.

I could be wrong. I don't know. That's why I posted the question. The only thing I do understand is the importance of diet and exercise.

Appreciate the feedback.
joonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 05:21 PM   #6
DeathDonkey
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
DeathDonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 12,230
Re: exposed cards - 2-7

Post of the year
DeathDonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 10:56 AM   #7
OtherMoachist
newbie
 
OtherMoachist's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Midwest
Posts: 43
Re: exposed cards - 2-7

Quote:
Originally Posted by joonka View Post
How is his weight not relevant? The man is dangerously obese. At some point he's not even going to be able to find a chair that supports his corpulence. But I digress...

As for the main topic of this post, in the absence of collusion (which is a safe assumption at this game of friends), is it right to penalize Fatty for making an innocent mistake? I understand that Player 2 has more information than he is entitled to after the error which Player 3 does not have. It sounds fair that Player 3 should also have this same info to ensure against collusion. But in this situation, Player 3 had the same opportunity to see Fat Oprah's cards that Player 2 did. The cards were tabled and verbally announced. That has a fairness to it. My concern is that the benefit in rewarding Player 3 with this same info offset by the harm it does Chubsy Wubsy.

If El Gordo had shown Player 2 his cards "to sweat" without realizing 2 is still in the hand, then I completely agree. The cards get tabled a second time. But this seems like a situation where 2 and 3 both had access to the same mistake Big Papi made. Exposing Pizza the Hutt's hand a second time seems like an overreach.


Consider a couple of other examples:

1) What if Jelloman had tabled his cards after the dealer mistakenly told him it was time for showdown and not due to some brain fart on his own part? Does that change the "show one show all" rule?


2) Suppose while looking at his cards in a multiplayer pot, Porky's stubby little fingers fail him and one of his cards flashes. The player next to him, who is also still in the hand says he thinks he saw the card and identifies it generically, like "red face card". At that point does Stubby have to expose the card? Or announce that it was identified incorrectly? It seems like a situation where an angle is opened up.

I could be wrong. I don't know. That's why I posted the question. The only thing I do understand is the importance of diet and exercise.

Appreciate the feedback.
I'm not supposed to lol, right? But I did. Many times. And I'm not near a picture of health.

You're mean, but thanks for the laugh.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
OtherMoachist is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply
      

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2008-2010, Two Plus Two Interactive
 
 
Poker Players - Streaming Live Online