Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
Two Plus Two Publishing LLC

Go Back   Two Plus Two Poker Forums > >


Mid-High Stakes MTT Discussion and analysis of mid-high stakes MTT strategy

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2019, 12:17 PM   #1
Beachman42's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Havana Daydreamin'
Posts: 4,130
HPC Daily MTT ruling question

Hey - may not be the correct forum, but here goes:

I was in LA yesterday and decided to play the Sunday $150 at Hollywood Park. A few hours in, a hand developed at the other end of the table that I was NOT involved in. There was some betting & raising pf and OTF or OTT. The river card came and the first to act open folded. The Dealer began pushing the pot to the other guy and he also folded his hand. I didn't say anything but doesn't one player need to show to win the pot? These 2 guys clearly knew each other and while I don't think it was collusion, you can certainly see how easy it would be to chip dump.

The loud mouthed Table Captain said that no, he has played hundreds of MTTs and you do not need to show your hand to win. I asked if that was a local rule and he said, no that is universally true which I know is utter BS.

I'll not be playing this little gem again but just wanted a fact check without downloading TDA and reading it cover to cover.

What say you, 2+2?
Beachman42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 01:14 PM   #2
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 21
Re: HPC Daily MTT ruling question

dude if they're heads up and the guy folds face down, the other doesnt have to show his hand at all, hes won the pot. ship it. What makes you think he has to show, if its a showdown meaning they've both checked the river then one has to show for sure. i dont know who told you that. i know i have a few posts but ive been playing live for 5 yrs. noone has to show unless its an all in and its a tournament
ImMaRveLz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 01:22 PM   #3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 91
Re: HPC Daily MTT ruling question

The casinos I play at in England work the same. Quite often my opponent will insta muck at showdown because they didn't want to show their bluff, so then I also get to muck as I collect the pot.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Codfish60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 05:59 AM   #4
oldsilver's Avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: yelling at clouds
Posts: 5,241
Re: HPC Daily MTT ruling question

Doesn’t have to show afaik
oldsilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 05:44 PM   #5
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 217
Re: HPC Daily MTT ruling question

In this scenario, I don't believe he has to show. If dealer prompted him to show, he could simply put out a bet and, with the other hand already having been folded, he would be awarded the pot.
fro_dude is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2008-2017, Two Plus Two Interactive
Poker Players - Streaming Live Online