Two Plus Two Publishing LLC Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
 

Go Back   Two Plus Two Poker Forums > >

Notices

Pool, Snooker, and Billiards Discussion of cue sports

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2011, 01:09 AM   #1
LimpDitka
veteran
 
LimpDitka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 2,827
8 ball rules/scenario question

Background: playing 8 ball with my family and we usually wager a couple bucks on each game. I'm down to the final ball the 8 ball when the following occurs:

I make the 8 ball however the cue ball somehow manages to strike the 8 ball twice I did not call this however I did call the pocket and it did go in that pocket. I argued to no end but in the end everyone ruled against me. Also what if I called bank and the ball banked more than one before going into said pocket. Thanks for the help
LimpDitka is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 04:13 AM   #2
Wamy Einehouse
rack 'em
 
Wamy Einehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,650
Re: 8 ball rules/scenario question

If you call the pocket and it goes in the pocket you win.
Wamy Einehouse is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 10:38 AM   #3
smbruin22
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,306
Re: 8 ball rules/scenario question

Do you have to call a bounce off another ball? Ie there's an opponent's ball near the pocket and you're not sure if you'll nuidge it or not.

I presume you can't hit an opponent's ball first on any shot?

Thanks in advance!
smbruin22 is offline  
Old 04-03-2011, 06:30 PM   #4
GBP04
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
GBP04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sevilla
Posts: 7,799
Re: 8 ball rules/scenario question

Quote:
Originally Posted by smbruin22 View Post
Do you have to call a bounce off another ball? Ie there's an opponent's ball near the pocket and you're not sure if you'll nuidge it or not.

I presume you can't hit an opponent's ball first on any shot?

Thanks in advance!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wamy Einehouse View Post
If you call the pocket and it goes in the pocket you win.
.
GBP04 is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 01:43 PM   #5
dinopoker
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
dinopoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Must...bet...more!
Posts: 7,628
Re: 8 ball rules/scenario question

Yeah in real call-shot pool if the designated ball goes in the designated pocket then it's a good shot, regardless of how it gets there. It could hit another ball, two cushions, and the ceiling fan and still be good. However a lot of bars (and homes) can have their own 'house rules' and when they do those are what you have to play by.
dinopoker is offline  
Old 09-04-2016, 09:20 AM   #6
precisepotting
stranger
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
Re: 8 ball rules/scenario question

The term is "call pocket", not "call all scenarios and then pocket" lol
precisepotting is offline  

 
      

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2008-2010, Two Plus Two Interactive
 
 
Poker Players - Streaming Live Online