Originally Posted by westhoff
why do the 8 slowest golfers in the world always have to tee off right before my group? ugh took 4 hours to play 15 holes then we just gave up and went to hooters
This does not sound that bad. Well its better than working.
Yesterdays round was interesting to say the least. 42-43 I played really well (for me).
2 friends didnt show up and they grouped us w/ a Tiger Woods look alike.
1st tee is a down wind (18 mph) 317 dog leg right. Im usually the big hitter in my group averageing 275. I was first up pull driver and hit my power fade that lands ~20 yards from the green. My friend (who is right there w/ me) hits a ball that goes dead straight through the fairway 80 yards out. Tiger look alike 6'2" pure muscle. Pulls 3 wood and lands it on the green I roll my eyes knowing Im going to be hitting my aproach shots first most of the day. Anyways I was even par on the par 5s with an 8 on one. Had one tripple one penalty stroke and 1 3 put all day (all on the same hole) with 30 puts total (13 on the front).
A couple questions about the rules that courses can impose.
The 15th hole, 520 par 5, was a 90 degree dog leg right with water running down the right side of the fairway splitting the fairway in 2. You hit your drive into the left fairway then hit your second shot across the water to the 2nd fairway. A sign on the tee box said "Any ball hit to the right of the water is out of bounds." This is because it would be possible to hit your tee shot over the 14th green and cut 200 yards off the hole. Well all 3 of us know we can hit a big fade starting down the 1st fairway and getting it into the 2nd fairway which is right of the water. The ball flight will not be over the 14th green. It is about 250 to cary the watter but the wind was going left to right and a little bit helping so it was actually a pretty easy shot. We all agreed that the sign is BS because you are allowed to hit through OB if you wind up back on the correct hole. And we were not endangering any players by taking this route. My friend hit first he double crossed himself and wound up in the 1st fairway (how the hole is ment to be played). Tiger look alike hit a big fade and lands it around the 150 in the 2nd fair way. I do the same and have 170 out.
Is there any way the course can inforce the rule that our shots were out of bounds when we were both in the fairway of the correct hole?