Originally Posted by 2OutsNoProb
Two people firing off anecdotal non-specific comments on a website about players playing high really has little to do with whether or not someone was high in THIS example. The bottom line is that it's obviously much, much, much more likely that this was just an awkward interview where player/caddie aren't great at dealing with the media and were nervous about saying the wrong thing in a controversial situation.
I didn't see the interview so I am not speculating at all on whether or not they were stoned here. I was more offering the knowledge that yes players indeed have been known to play stoned. I have never been a smoker so I don't know if there are varying levels of high or if once you are high you are high. The 10 or so times I have smoked pot I was already so drunk that I can assure you I couldn't have played golf! And yes, I am offering non-specific comments for more than obvious reasons.
I didn't see the interviews, but I was watching the coverage when IT happened with a couple buddies (all mini tour players or D1 golfers) who were in town for the D1AA national championship game and I said to them "WTF is he doing." One of them said they changed that rule to which I replied I don't think so. However, his comment implies that yes it is obvious he touched it, but that is fine now. To the 4 guys watching it (2 solid mini tour guys, one college all-American and me(whatever I am)) it was completely obvious he was touching the green and gaining information.
In my opinion what happened is he tested the surface like he has probably been doing at home for the last few months while playing casual golf in the off season. He then out of habit screwed up and did it in the tournament. There is no other explanation. It is such an obvious and ingrained rule that there is no way you would ever do something that even remotely looks like you are testing the surface. I have experience with a similar screw up from my first go around professionally. On the first hole of a Tear Drop Tour event in Orlando in 2000 or 2001 I hit my approach on the green and when I got to my ball with putter and towel in hand I simply picked up my ball before marking it out habit from casual winter golf. When I stood up with my ball I said OH **** and proceeded to call a penalty on myself for general stupidity. I promise you that is what happened and his caddie couldn't handle the thought of getting Watney a penalty (and jeopardizing his job) and thus just lied. It changed nothing in the event because I am sure he didn't give any info to Nick, but the caddie tested the surface....it is as obvious as can be unless you are blind.
The only other logical thing to me is that he was stoned and f'd up and then simply didn't admit it. The only reason I say that he had to be stoned is because there is ABSOLUTELY NOW WAY a caddie would mess up and touch the surface. NO WAY. It would be easier to show up with 25 clubs in your bag than touch the green. So either an honest mistake and then cheated to cover his ass, or he was stoned. 0% chance of anything else.