Two Plus Two Publishing LLC Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
 

Go Back   Two Plus Two Poker Forums > General Poker Discussion > News, Views, and Gossip

Notices

News, Views, and Gossip For poker news, views, and gossip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2011, 07:52 AM   #1
banned
 
stu+stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: balls are warm
Posts: 4,486
Is this South Point site new?

http://www.lvrj.com/business/south-p...131177378.html

I was wondering if this is already being discussed elsewhere? Launches this month, I guess.

Good thing? Bad thing? Nothing?
stu+stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 08:21 AM   #2
White Knight of FL Poker
 
PokerXanadu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,545
Re: Is this South Point site new?

Nothing special. It's part of the Zen Gaming Network (UFC, NBC Sports, National Poker Tour, Treasure Island Poker, etc.). Bad software, freerolls to win prizes. It does mean that one casino is preparing for the eventuality of licensed US i-poker. But not a good choice of software, imo.
PokerXanadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 09:17 AM   #3
Pooh-Bah
 
MSchu18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,863
Re: Is this South Point site new?

they can barely get live players into the casino to grace their large room on a semi regular basis, I hope they can compete when mgm, harrahs and wynn come online.
MSchu18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 09:22 AM   #4
banned
 
stu+stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: balls are warm
Posts: 4,486
Guess we'll have to wait and see. There could be a small advantage in coming in first. But you're right, I doubt it'll matter.
stu+stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:13 PM   #5
adept
 
eobmtns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Las Vegas
Posts: 1,020
Re: Is this South Point site new?

Will there eventually be rakeback, and should I wait?
eobmtns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 08:52 PM   #6
White Knight of FL Poker
 
PokerXanadu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,545
Re: Is this South Point site new?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eobmtns View Post
Will there eventually be rakeback, and should I wait?
I'm pretty sure the real-money site won't be the same software and same account signup. Impossible to say for sure right now.
PokerXanadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 11:32 PM   #7
Mango Mercenary
 
augie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 18,715
Re: Is this South Point site new?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PokerXanadu View Post
I'm pretty sure the real-money site won't be the same software and same account signup. Impossible to say for sure right now.
obviously the subscription site model will go to pot once there's some kind of legalization.

funny, these sites are supposed to give you free subscriptions and follow their instructions (mailing in an index card with info on it) but neither of the big subscription sites gave me my free membership! i should sue!
augie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 12:13 AM   #8
adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,182
Re: Is this South Point site new?

I signed up for it. It seems like a combination of Zynga poker where they want you to buy chips for real money or do sponsored things for chips, and ClubWPT where you play in tournies for small prizes and with crap software.

I'll play around with it to see if any of the tournies are worth it for US players who can't play for real money, and would be playing for micro stakes anyway.
synth_floyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 01:04 AM   #9
adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,182
Re: Is this South Point site new?

Nevermind. The site is a waste of time. Really bad software, ads everywhere, crap prizes.
synth_floyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 04:34 AM   #10
enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 67
Re: Is this South Point site new?

Site is wack IMO don't waste your time if your a grinder!!
petegotaplan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 10:23 AM   #11
veteran
 
Doc T River's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Supporting Online Poker Regulation
Posts: 2,402
Re: Is this South Point site new?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stu+stu View Post
Guess we'll have to wait and see. There could be a small advantage in coming in first. But you're right, I doubt it'll matter.
If there's advantage to being first, it won't go to South Point's site. CE already has the WSOP site.
Doc T River is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:15 PM   #12
Pooh-Bah
 
MSchu18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,863
Re: Is this South Point site new?

Quote:
Originally Posted by synth_floyd View Post
Nevermind. The site is a waste of time. Really bad software, ads everywhere, crap prizes.
just like the casino... sans .75 hotdogs./
MSchu18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 05:18 PM   #13
journeyman
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: valuetown
Posts: 389
Re: Is this South Point site new?

sounds lame
AirStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 06:20 PM   #14
centurion
 
suitedjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: crushing wait n shoves
Posts: 184
Re: Is this South Point site new?

Quick first impressions after playing one tourney.

-You play with points. I was given 3500 at signup, which is about 10 tourney ABIs. There are a few freeroll qualifiers that don't cost any points. There was also some indication that I would receive more points for checking in from time to time.

-Prizes are more points or qualifiers to $10-$300 prizes. Looks like they have something going for the WSOP 2012.

-Ads play pretourney and on breaks, banner ads run at the bottom and side at all times.

-There is no resizing the table, and you can't autocenter your seat AFAIK. The table pops up the the forefront full size on your turn even if you click autofold. This makes it a huge pain if you're playing on a real money site at the same time.

-You can't take notes.

HHs are insane. I believe the HH will tell you what every player had in the last hand.

-AFAIK, they don't put cards in front of, or otherwise highlight or indicate players who are active in a hand. So if you're not paying careful attention, you won't know if you're heads up or 6 handed on the flop until the next player/series of players acts.

My first impression is that I would play this if I was busto or otherwise couldn't get on a pay site.
suitedjustice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 10:44 PM   #15
centurion
 
suitedjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: crushing wait n shoves
Posts: 184
Re: Is this South Point site new?

edit: i can see which players have cards now lol
suitedjustice is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply
      

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2008-2010, Two Plus Two Interactive