Originally Posted by UGotTheTouch
If you look at the TDA rules, it goes to explicitly say in Rule 8 the following:
8: Balancing Tables
A: In flop and mixed games when balancing tables, the player who will be big blind next will be moved to the worst position, including taking a single big blind when available, even if that means the seat will have the big blind twice.
In your example, Seat 2 was never the BB, however Seat 3 was. New hand would've been Seat 1 button. If the new Seat 2 posts the BB, the button will end up staying in Seat 1 for a second hand, and I believe that's what they want to try and avoid.
It seems to me that if you are trying to avoid the button staying in seat 1 to two hands you wouldn't have a rule that would require it.
I understand that rule doesn't apply here, but see no reason why you would conclude that the existence of that rule proves that they don;t want the button to remain in the same seat twice.
I think Matt Savage's instruction to YTF is as suggested by someone else just a dumbing down of the dead button rule. Enough people use the term wrong that eventually it starts to change its meaning.