Originally Posted by DutchCourage
Just a simplified example to clarify the point: I offer you 10 coin flips, heads you get $2, tails you pay $1. You can stop at any point. Miraculously, you lose the first 5 flips. Would you stop the game?
I don't think this is quite analogous but I see your point. Assuming I'm bankrolled sufficiently and can absorb a large number of attempts, I should be willing to keep flipping no matter how many I've lost.
However, realistically speaking I'm not sufficiently bankrolled to absorb a large number of $60 rebuys. But I play in the league because I feel I have enough of a skill edge that I can minimize my rebuy costs and play within the limited bankroll (which has been the case).
This question arose because I go into each tournament with a rule of allowing myself one rebuy and that's it. Part of the reason I do that is because the structure of the tournament is such that the benefit of gambling for early doubles isn't worth the cost of multiple rebuys. These aren't large field tourneys where you have to accumulate as many chips as possible during the rebuy period to have any real hope of going deep. These games play more like STTs.
I suppose theoretically my rule doesn't make sense. I should be willing to rebuy as many times as necessary. But it hasn't been a problem - I have never needed more than one rebuy.
Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk