Originally Posted by Fred
I watched an EPT the otherday where a guy moved his chips (when deciding to call) right onto the line then stopped there to see if he could get a read, which lead to a 2 hand penalty.
Where I play, this is a bet, and I've seen people bound by it.
The written rulebook in this room says that even if the chips don't cross the line, it's a bet if "the player moved the chips forward sufficiently far away from himself so as to make it obvious that he intended to bet." The book also says that the house can call this a bet if it appears intended to unfairly gain information from the other player(s).