I don't play stud very often but occasionally we do a mixed-game tournament in our home game. So I try to look up the rules for irregularities ahead of time. Here's what I've been using and the situation finally came up and caused a bit of a stir because it seems pretty obscure. I've found this consistently in various versions of RROP on various sites:
If the dealer turns the last card faceup to any player, the hand now high on the board using all the upcards will start the action. The following rules apply to the dealing of cards:
If there are more than two players, all remaining players receive their last card facedown. A player whose last card is faceup has the option of declaring all-in (before betting action starts).
If there are only two players remaining and the first players final downcard is dealt faceup, the second players final downcard will also be dealt faceup, and the betting proceeds as normal.
In the event the first players final card is dealt facedown and the opponents final card is dealt faceup, the player with the faceup final card has the option of declaring all-in (before betting action starts).
So it was a 3-way pot and one of the players got his last card faceup. Based on this rule, I ruled that he had the option to go all-in. It was early in the tournament and his stack was about 4-5x the pot, so the other players both folded.
I think the rule is pretty clear as written, but people thought it just couldn't be correct to allow an all-in like that in a Limit game. Anyone here play enough live stud in a casino to comment on this?