Originally Posted by F0RCE F1VE
Player 2 did have to pay off the call. Your question gives rise to a broader issue, the use of a verbal call without putting in money. The more astute dealers will make the player put in the money before asking for a showdown.
I am a fairly "astute" dealer and I always announce loudly with gestures when there is an all-in and a call and make sure both players and the table hears me say this before I run out the board and/or ask to see cards at showdown. If players have piles of chips in front of them, this process can take a minute or two that is unnecessary since one player will either win it all or a chop will happen.
I have had absolutely zero problems with this.
Verbal is binding in every poker room. If a player verbally says all-in or verbally calls an all-in, I don't know of a poker room anywhere that it is not binding. Different rooms have different rules in dealing with players who do not relinquish chips when they have to up to and including arrest.
I have seen a couple of instances (none while I was dealing) with players who refused to relinquish chips when the dealer said they should. I can see situations where the dealer did not communicate the action very well, or maybe there actually is some legitimate doubt as to what the action was where a player wouldn't have to put money in, but that's not what was being discussed here unless someone claimed that the verbal action didn't actually happen.