Two Plus Two Publishing LLC Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
 

Go Back   Two Plus Two Poker Forums > No Limit Hold'em > High Stakes PL/NL

Notices

High Stakes PL/NL Discussions about high stakes pot-limit and no-limit hold'em (10-20 and up)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2010, 07:54 AM   #16
veteran
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,985
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

im pretty sure people arent clicking and downloading programs. once you click the link the bogus site, your computer just instantly downloads it.
jcmoussa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 08:14 AM   #17
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
Daddy Warbucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13,557
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zergum View Post
Yesterday Alladiin contacted me on aim (his aim being Johancederkrantz) offering to play me in chess for money. He linked "club-chess.com" which is a clone of chessclub.com, a very famous site that is legitimate. The site club-chess.com was registered yesterday. Of course the site again links to a trojan that would most likely be used to see my screen. I pointed it out to him and he had a very defensive response then logged off.
Was this just some random who IM'd you looking to play chess for money? If so, why would you ever click a link from him???
Daddy Warbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 08:17 AM   #18
journeyman
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: tampa
Posts: 240
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daddy Warbucks View Post
Was this just some random who IM'd you looking to play chess for money? If so, why would you ever click a link from him???

No, just like it says in OP the person who contacted me was Alladiin on FTP a HS plo/nl reg. He had previously asked my roommate for PLO coaching and got my aim through him.
Zergum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 08:20 AM   #19
veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,371
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmoussa View Post
im pretty sure people arent clicking and downloading programs. once you click the link the bogus site, your computer just instantly downloads it.
I'm pretty sure it doesn't and they are downloading it. If your computer is actually downloading and executing code automatically then you've probably turned off autoupdates for some reason and are running a very old version of your browser.
mustmuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 08:21 AM   #20
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
Daddy Warbucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13,557
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

Ah okay, i wasn't sure if you'd made the link before the conversation started.
Daddy Warbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 08:21 AM   #21
cts
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
cts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wash DC
Posts: 7,303
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

I have played quite a bit of heads up PLO against both of these accounts and I believe I have done very well against them, I would be surprised if they could see my cards. They both sucked pretty bad as well. I will go through my hands later to see my results and if there was anything fishy going on.
cts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 08:30 AM   #22
journeyman
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: tampa
Posts: 240
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

Quote:
Originally Posted by cts View Post
I have played quite a bit of heads up PLO against both of these accounts and I believe I have done very well against them, I would be surprised if they could see my cards. They both sucked pretty bad as well. I will go through my hands later to see my results and if there was anything fishy going on.
Both players are seemingly pretty bad, but Alladiin has played abunch of people and at the end of the session he asks for coaching or something similar.

The scary thing is he is actually cloning real websites and adding his own trojan to do these scams. They appear sophisticated and legitimate, but really they are copies of real sites.
Zergum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 09:22 AM   #23
old hand
 
gorgeouss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,226
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

basic advice:

when linked to software by someone you don't know over the internet, even when it seems legitimate, just google the software name and get there from the google link.

this prevents new/unknown/fake sites, and should cover 99% of the cases.


although very unlikely - even if the link seems legitimate from a website you know (e.g. www.twoplustwo.com/something.exe), had the hacker successfully gained basic entry to the twoplustwo domain, he could plant a file on their servers without getting noticed/exposing the fake file on the site itself.
gorgeouss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 09:25 AM   #24
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
React1oN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 12,189
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorgeouss View Post
basic advice:

when linked to software by someone you don't know over the internet, even when it seems legitimate, just google the software name and get there from the google link.

this prevents new/unknown/fake sites.
100%. I tried doing this with the teamviewerpro site and the fact that it was nowhere to be found on google, just the actual teamviewer site, really sketched me out.
React1oN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 09:55 AM   #25
LAPT San Jose Winner
 
fees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10,238
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

http://www.pokerXtableratings.com/fu...ch/bad_gateway

seems like a reasonable 2550 NL winrate... if you played scout all day
fees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 10:30 AM   #26
centurion
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 130
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmoussa View Post
im pretty sure people arent clicking and downloading programs. once you click the link the bogus site, your computer just instantly downloads it.
Defintiely didnt download anything- im sure something downloaded without me even knowing, just by clicking a link.
_MicahJ_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 10:34 AM   #27
adept
 
Vinny80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Value check folding
Posts: 992
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

Quote:
Originally Posted by fees View Post
http://www.pokerXtableratings.com/fu...ch/bad_gateway

seems like a reasonable 2550 NL winrate... if you played scout all day
wow awsome winrate... do you think he would accept coaching me?
Vinny80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 10:48 AM   #28
veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,338
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

Post some obv HU hands, please...And then email them to the sites.
Cusipz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 11:34 AM   #29
in ur facebook
 
dotbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: hi didseur
Posts: 1,003
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

Quote:
Originally Posted by fees View Post
http://www.pokerXtableratings.com/fu...ch/bad_gateway

seems like a reasonable 2550 NL winrate... if you played scout all day
Should someone not make a comment there with a link/details in case someone sees it while playing him?
dotbum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 11:45 AM   #30
Is Right
 
NoahSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18,271
Re: new HSNL scammers crushing FTP

You really really really should've e-mailed the sites and waited a little bit before making this public....
NoahSD is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply
      

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2008-2010, Two Plus Two Interactive