Two Plus Two Publishing LLC Two Plus Two Publishing LLC
 

Go Back   Two Plus Two Poker Forums > Other Poker > High Stakes PL Omaha

Notices

High Stakes PL Omaha Discussion of 2/4 and above pot-limit Omaha poker

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2011, 01:29 PM   #1
grinder
 
dwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Over here !
Posts: 407
Possibly Dodgy Equity software

This thread was x-posted here a while back :

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/45...-have-1131401/
dwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:01 PM   #2
grinder
 
dwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Over here !
Posts: 407
Re: Possibly Dodgy Equity software

Can this be stickied for a while to make sure everyone who looked at the software sees it ?
dwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:38 PM   #3
FBP
25th WSOP ME 09
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limpers
Posts: 970
Re: Possibly Dodgy Equity software

What's name of soft?
FBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 03:24 AM   #4
enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 55
Re: Possibly Dodgy Equity software

Omaha equity (the plo version of NL Equilab) is being developed by Pokerstrategy.com

However their beta version was modified re-released and posted on 2p2 by a randomer. The reason for this is unknown, so people assumed he added some malware to it.
shaymalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 04:30 AM   #5
Carpal \'Tunnel
 
chinz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NOT SCANDI
Posts: 8,160
Re: ***December Low Content Thread***

Mods please sticky this thread for a while, possible hacking attempt

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/15...tware-1135247/

If anyone downloaded Omaha Equilab (omaha equity calculator posted in SSPLO and HSPLO forums about a week ago) check your PC for malware... and it probably wouldn't be a bad idea to format and reinstall everything just to be sure.

If someone was naive enough to install that software on a computer they use to access their poker etc. accounts, now would be a good time for a little reality check and try to understand that it's an awful idea to install any unknown software from sources you don't know/trust.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korn View Post
Warning

DO NOT INSTALL OR USE THIS SOFTWARE.

This is a pirated beta version of the Omaha Equilab that is being developed by PokerStrategy.com.

The guy who stole it - most like during a beta test - removed our logo from the software. Also, it is very possible that malware was inserted by him.

We are currently seeking to indentify the perpetrator and will take immediate legal action against him.

Note: the proper version of the Omaha Equilab will be released on PokerStrategy.com during the coming weeks. Do not download the software from any other source. Also, the software will be available for free once it is released.

Best regards,
Dominik Kofert
CEO, PokerStrategy.com
chinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 07:51 AM   #6
grinder
 
dwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Over here !
Posts: 407
Re: Possibly Dodgy Equity software

Quote:
Originally Posted by FBP View Post
What's name of soft?
It was called Omaha equilab.
dwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 06:48 PM   #7
db1
banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 86
Re: Possibly Dodgy Equity software

Would it not be better to play on a Mac rather then pc? I play on a pc but was thinking of switching to Mac because of things like this and malware/viruses. Opinions on this would be appreciated.
db1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 05:28 PM   #8
veteran
 
MalkasGambit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 32 countries and counting
Posts: 2,159
Re: Possibly Dodgy Equity software

Is http://propokertools.com/simulations software ok?
MalkasGambit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 10:46 AM   #9
adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 851
Re: Possibly Dodgy Equity software

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalkasGambit View Post
Yes. I periodically check for suspicious behavior on my servers, and have found nothing strange. I do not collect any information on my users other than the usual stuff for website statistics (Google Metrics). I do get the occasional robot trying to check for easy server passwords, but this is an attack on ProPokerTools, not its users - I do not have any valuable user data to speak of.

- Dan @ ProPokerTools


P.S. FWIW, the downloadable http://propokertools.com/odds_oracle comes with instructions on how to run in "paranoid mode" to prevent the program from stealing your data, tracking your habits, wiping your files, searching for passwords, etc. etc. Of course I don't do any of this stuff, but if you don't trust me for some reason, or if you think the software has been tampered with, there you are.
bachfan is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply
      

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2008-2010, Two Plus Two Interactive