Originally Posted by SinK
What about the situation where you have an opportunity to turn a few dead stones into a long line through your opponents territory. You will still lose your line of stones but since he must put down twice as many stones to take them it seems there would be an advantage to making him fill up his own territory with his own stones.
I am happy to accept this is wrong but I just can't see why that is the case.
Originally Posted by Neil S
Just saw this.
Why would he have to put down twice as many stones as you? If the position is dead for you, he doesn't have to play any stones at all!
Only if you're trying to make them live, by playing your own stones, would he have to play back. And by you playing your stones, you're creating prisoners.
teach chinese (area) counting and this n00b fallacy is completely side stepped.
Add Ikeda's rule
to traditional area scoring and the two rule sets (Ikeda area counting and japanese counting) give the same result in all but the rarest cases.
Heck, you can even switch to japanese counting when you know enough to know why OP's statement is wrong.
The game is really about market share (controlling more than 50% of the board) not capturing. Area scoring makes this more obvious to the uninitiated.